Anyone hunting in Florida must possess a valid hunting license, excluding those entitled to exemptions.
Pursuant to Florida Statute 379.354, the following individuals are EXEMPT from recreational hunting, freshwater fishing or saltwater fishing licenses as well as Florida waterfowl, migratory bird, deer, turkey, snook, spiny lobster, archery, crossbow, muzzle-loading and management area permit requirements (unless noted, these exemptions do not apply to federal duck stamp requirements):
Anyone born on or after June 1, 1975 may not be issued a license to hunt in Florida without first having successfully completed a hunter safety course. Anyone who meets the above description must present a valid hunter safety certification card prior to being issued a hunting license.
Anyone exempt from purchasing a hunting license but born on or after June 1, 1975 are exempt from the hunter safety requirement. Lifetime license holders born on or after June 1, 1975 whose license do not indicate that they have completed a hunter safety course must have the hunter safety certification card in their possession while hunting.
Anyone 16 years of age or older born on or after June 1, 1975 may hunt under the supervision of a licensed hunter, 21 years of age or older, without having to complete the State's Hunter Safety Education course. This program enables the qualified individual to purchase an annual Florida hunting license and to hunt on a one-year trial basis. Individuals taking advantage of the Hunter Safety Mentoring Exemption option will have to take and pass a Hunter Safety Education Course to be eligible to purchase future hunting privileges. For more information and course schedules see Hunter Safety Mentoring Exemption program on the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission's website.